Back to All Events

DuoCore Recital at Loomis Village | South Hadley, MA

  • Loomis Village 20 Bayon Drive South Hadley, MA, 01075 United States (map)

DuoCore - Cihan Yücel and Ignacy Gaydamovich will present the following program:

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Sonata for Piano and Cello Op. 5 No. 1 in F Major

  1. Adagio Sostenuto - Allegro

  2. Rondo. Allegro vivace

Cello Sonata Movement after the String Trio in E flat Major Op. 3

  1. Allegro arranged by Terry King based on Beethoven’s sketches

- intermission

Sergey Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)

Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor Op. 19

  1. Lento. Allegro Moderato

  2. Allegro Scherzando

  3. Andante

  4. Allegro mosso


VOTE below for the piece YOU would like to hear! 



Photo by Paulina Alenkina

Photo by Paulina Alenkina

Cihan Yücel has performed hundreds of solo and chamber music concerts in the US, Europe, and his native Turkey - including a solo recital broadcasted on the Turkish National Radio, and a performance of Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 with the Presidential Symphony Orchestra. Born in Ankara Cihan began his piano studies at the age of six. In 1998, he entered Hacettepe University Ankara State Conservatory to study with Menekşe Akar. In 2009 Cihan came to the United States for his Master’s degree, studying with Paul Rutman and Anne Koscielny at The Hartt School of Music. His leaning towards chamber music during his Master’s and Artist Diploma studies at the Hartt School brought success to him and his chamber music groups. Vagus Trio, one of his chamber music groups, became the State Winner and National Finalist in the Music Teachers National Association Competition in 2011. His long-term mentors were composer İlhan Baran, pianists Eric Trudel, Louis de Moura Castro, and David Westfall. Currently, Cihan is in the Hartt School’s honors chamber music program, Performance 20/20, and pursuing his Doctor of Musical Arts degree with Paul Rutman.

Cellist Ignacy Gaydamovich is an active soloist, recitalist, teacher, chamber musician, and a recording artist. From recent engagements, Gaydamovich performed Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No. 1 with Manchester Symphony Orchestra. His latest CD features cello works by Lukas Foss recorded for the first time in history.  Gaydamovich regularly performs in Europe, Lebanon, Japan, and the United States and is a recipient of multiple awards from Austrian, American, and Polish institutions. In 2012 he gave the Albanian premiere of the Korngold Cello Concerto with the National Radio and Tv Orchestra of Albania in Tirana. As an advocate for new music, he gave the American premiere of Cellotronicum for cello and computer by Michal Talma-Sutt, commissioned and premiered a solo work by Alexander Barsov and appeared on a crossover CD Cosmospir. He is a founding member of the Atlas Piano Trio and the principal cellist of the Boston Chamber Orchestra